For exclusive Scottish tours, email info@catswhiskerstours.co.uk or visit my website.


England Heritage Tour

Saturday, September 29, 2007

Midday drink with canine friend

On the pivotal intersection of Roman Dere Street and Stanegate near the Tyne crossing, Corbridge played a vital role in every Roman campaign in northern Britain. The first forts here were founded c. AD 79-85 during the campaigns into Scotland under Agricola; the third in association with Hadrian’s Wall; the last used during the campaigns of Antoninus Pius in the mid-2nd century. Corbridge then became a busy garrison town.

The extensively excavated remains include a fountain house with an aqueduct, a pair of granaries, and walled military compounds containing barracks, temples, houses and a headquarters building with a belowground strongroom. You can even walk on the original Stanegate Roman road, which predated Hadrian’s Wall and passes through the centre of the site.
View of Corbridge Roman site-granaries and fountain site

Corbridge-undergound strong room looking north. Room at top of stairs may have been the shrine, centre of religious life for the garrison.
The granaries looking north.

Overview of site looking S.W.
Granaries

Reconstructed windmill at Whitburn

Limestone coastline at Whitburn. This is being eroded.

Angel of the North-It was the vision of Gateshead Council to create a landmark sculpture at the entrance to Tyneside, which culminated in The Angel of the North. Its wide, open arms greet visitors as they reach Gateshead, whether they come by road or rail.
Angel of the North in profile. Dot at bottom right is a person.

Causey Arch, built in 1725-6 is the oldest surviving single arch railway bridge in the world. It spans the gorge of Causey Burn.
Hand blown glass window at Pockerley Manor, Beamish Museum

Domestic scene inside Pockerley Manor, 1825

Burnt out stage coach in pond. Apart from being somewhat surreal this is meant to signify the transition from road transport to rail when many stagecoaches became redundant and were dumped.
Steam Elephant 1825. It is possible to have a short ride.

Steam Elephant or Locomotion

Another view of the Steam Elephant ready to roll.


Band stand c 1913. Very colourful.


Shoeing a horse
Replica early 20th century bus.

Thomas the Tank Engine? In need a heavy restoration.

Miners cottages.

Inside a miner's cottage c 1913.

Inside miner's cottage
Colliery scene, a reminder of the North East's heavy industrial past.
View of English pub

River Wear with Victoria Viaduct in distance.
The Bridge was designed by T.E.Harrison and patterned on the Roman bridge at Alcantara in Spain. It was officially opened on the Coronation Day of Queen Victoria in 1838 although it did not actually open to traffic until 1839. For many years it carried the main railway line from Newcastle to London until the main line was routed through Durham in 1872. The route over the Victoria was closed in 1991. It has been suggested that the line may be reopened in the future.

View of Penshaw Monument.
One of the North East's most prominent landmarks, Penshaw Monument was built in 1844 in honour of the first Earl of Durham, John George Lambton. Penshaw Monument was modelled on the Thesion, the Temple of Theseus in Athens. Penshaw stands magnificently above the city on a limestone hill in the middle of the Great North Forest and affords views as far afield as Durham Cathedral and the North Pennines.
Looking out from the Penshaw monument


Another view of the River Wear with Victoria Viaduct
Victoria Viaduct, opened 1839
Old clock at top of former stable block at Beamish Hall Hotel

Views of Beamish Hall Hotel. This dates back to about the 1200s and has been completely refurbished as a hotel. Excellent value!

Labels:

posted by Catswhiskers @ 3:49 AM 

0 Comments:

Post a Comment